Admiration For Amy Tan

Cafe Book Bean

amy-tanI seem to be drawn to the novels of Amy Tan. I’m unsure of the exact allure, but I find her style of writing deep and compelling. She often writes with a rawness that can feel a bit gritty, but at the same time it makes the novel feel more real and attractive. I love the way she ties history and culture into her stories, it is an added appeal (for me at least.)

Also, having two amazing daughters of my own, as well as a deep love and
respect for my mother, I especially enjoy how beautifully Tan writes about
mother-daughter relationships. I find the realness and emotion in her novels to be delightful. I hope I’ll have the time to read more of here work some day.

Here are what I find to be her most alluring books:

(Click pictures and titles for more info.)

The Valley of Amazement
This story is about…

View original post 346 more words

Leave a Reply

