My one true desire, confession from the mad Dater

We all have one true desire, whether we want to admit it out loud or keep it to ourselves, it is to be loved. No, to be truly loved unconditionally. When I read the poem, ” An Evil Spirit” from the book of Love, it reminded me, while I am search for my life partner as the Mad Dater, How I missed all the desires that true love can invoke.

12724876_1538821206417131_2035464952_n

An Evil Spirit~ Michael Drayton

An evil spirit, your beauty haunts me still,

Wherewith ( alas) I have been long possess’d,

which ceaseth not to tempt me to each ill,

Nor gives me once,but one poor minute’s

rest:

In me it speaks, whether I sleep or wake,

And when by means, to drive it out I try,

With greater torments then it me doth take,

And tortures me in most extremity;

Before my face, it lays down my despairs,

And hastes me unto a sudden death;

Now tempting me, to drown myself in tears,

And then in sighing, to give up my breath;

Thus am I still provok’d to every evil,

By this good wicked spirit, sweet angel

devil.

 

Beautiful. What say You?

Leave a Reply

