THE BLACK MAN’S STORY

 

The Black Man’s Story: Nothing Has Changed

Part 1-Then

“If it doesn’t fit, you must acquit.” These words uttered by Johnnie Cochran in the Simpson trial, referring to a piece of evidence that a white officer purposely planted in order to trap Simpson. The Black man’s fight for equal recognition under an unjust judicial system is a long and deplorable history. In addition, in total violation of a black man human rights is the decision that “A black man has no rights a white man is bound to respect”, as stated by Chief Justice Roger B. Taney in the Scott V. Sanford case (1857).

In each case of white mans’ justice, and black man’s denial people of color took to the streets in protest for justice.

In 1997, Officer Justin Volpe sodomized Abner Louima with a broomstick. This assault on a Black man led to “A Day of Outrage” march headed by Rev. Al Sharpton. At that time I was a freelance reporter for Street News, here is an account of what I witnessed.

WHEN THE SAINTS GO MARCHING:THE DAY OF OUTRAGE

The black community was once again out-raged by the crimes that were committed by the NYPD against Abner Louima. Like so many people of color, I missed other rallies always intending to go but could never find myself there.

No one could seem to fathom what happened to Abner Louima. What I can tell you is that August 29, 1997 was not a day of outrage. The real day of outrage was when Abner Louima was arrested and brutally violated. This was a day that changed his life.

The marchers were young, old, white, Black, Spanish and Asian. This was a day for strength, love and unity. A day to rise up to cry out and to allow Abner Louima’s voice to be heard through the masses.

While we were walking I heard a voice from the crowd shout, “We are a powerful, peaceful, God-loving and God-fearing people. We shall continue to march again and again until the unjust white walls of Jericho come tumbling down. There were many people carrying signs. One of them read “Volpe admitted murder” Another said, “Justice time no Bargain, “and “Dishonest cops make dishonest arrest.”

Another Case of Justice gone wrong.

In 1989 they were called the” Juvenile five, 4 black males and one of Latin decent, and were accused of assault, robbery, riot, rape and the attempted murder, of a white female jogger in Central Park. They are now known as the Central Park Five.

 

To be continued….

2 comments

  1. Mike Roach Jr

    For anyone that decides to read this comment there’s nothing politically correct that will come out of my mouth so I apologize in advance for someone growing up in the hood in the absence of both parents I’ve never been locked up I’ve never spent a day in jail and I don’t have no felonies nor do I have any kind of police record however I’ve had more Police gun shoved in my face I’ve been harassed more times than I can count I’ve been pulled over as an out-of-state resident upon visiting because of what I drive and I’m a veteran. I have a lot of experience in which I can talk when it comes to police harassment and borderline police brutality I have a whole lot more I could say but I’m going to say before the next post to be continued…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

