An Ode To The Weekend

Dear readers,

stock-vector-man-people-working-construction-carrying-building-industry-painting-sawing-hard-labor-pictogram-83159008

Grinding, workaholic, pushing to the top, and burning the candle at both ends. Whatever people are calling it these days, I say, we live in a society were people are burnt out, drained and over worked. Does anyone remember the regular five-day work week, when business ended on Friday at 5 pm, and that when the weekend started.

90319910d8a1a2a77e2970077c084ccf

Yes, the weekend, those two days separate from the hustle and routine of the weekdays. Saturday meant, sleeping late, relaxing, regrouping, and visiting the mall. Sundays the family drove to grandmas house for dinner, or sport parties, backyard BBQ’s in the summer, and long lazy days at the beach.

Nowadays, relax is rushed and unplanned. I hear more and more people say, ” I don’t have Time.” Vacations are getting shorter, and most people plan stay cations, instead of going away.

I was a energizer bunny from the age of 28-50. Well, the thrill is gone. I am off the treadmill of madness, got my feet planted firmly on the ground, and taking baby steps to reclaim my weekends.

 

What Say You

 

7 comments

  1. Robert Masterson

    Weekend? Vacation? What are these words? What do they mean…?

    By the way, did you know that “what say you?” is Bill O’reilly’s sign off?

    Keep ’em coming

    Sent from my ridiculous iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dragthepen

      Hey Professor Masterson. No I didn’t know that was his sign off. Oh well, too to change. Thank you for continuing to support my blog. Oh, by the way, I did a radio interview for my book, The Waiting Game, it will air again Tuesday, on wearehotline.net 10pm. Hope you can tune in.

      Like

  2. MoniqueM

    And I think that more employers are implying that if you’re not constantly about the work and the company, then you’re not committed. This is crazy. I don’t really know how people do it, especially in this super-connected day and age.

    I mean not only did work end on Friday at 5pm, sometimes earlier when bosses were feeling particularly generous. And when your work week was over, and when your work day was over, then you did your personal and family life. And you had full lives in these areas.

    I could go on. To Labor Day and other holidays that are now usurped for making more for a company’s bottom line… I could go on, but I’ll stop this time. Ha!

    I’ve always been a freelancer, or self-employed, and I find myself not wanting to be anything else.

    Not only because of these false premises of a company and their expectations of their employees, but also I prize autonomy… and that’s just my particular expression of it. Ok, that’s what I say. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dragthepen

      Hello, I thank you for taking the time to post a well thought out comment. I feel that work should end on Friday at 3pm, 5pm is to late and when most people get home they are not excited about the weekend.I hope people will start to reclaim their weekends and spend more quality time doing things that they like and things that matter.

      Liked by 1 person

      • MoniqueM

        More quality time I agree is key. Otherwise, what are you doing? Even if you love, love, love your job, you’re still opening yourself to all kinds of stress and anxiety and depression or disorder. We cannot live without balance. There are things that are vital to our existence, health, and, frankly, our being alive.

        You’re welcome. I may have given more than you bargained for. Ha ha. Great inquiry you opened here.

        Like

Leave a Reply

