Oh Lift Me!

Percy Bysshe Shelly 1792-1822

Joseph Severn's portrait of Percy Bysshe Shelley. The radical 19th century poet practiced the politics of the plate. For Shelley and other liberals of his day, keeping sugar out of tea was a political statement against slavery.

Joseph Severn’s portrait of Percy Bysshe Shelley. 

Oh lift me from the grass!

I die! I faint! I fail!

Let thy love and kisses rain

On my lips and eyelids pale.

My cheek is cold and white alas!

My heart beats loud and fast:-

Oh! Press it to thine own again,

Where it will break at last.

4 comments

  1. My Theory

    This is a nice blog but please visit and read the new ultimate theory of human relativity exclusively on My Theory also give me some feedbacks as I am hungry for it.
    From your latest follower My Theory.

    Like

  2. Carl D'Agostino

    I remember this guy. On one test in college many decades ago, I had to write about the 3 Lake Poets (William Wordsworth (1770-1850), Samuel Taylor Coleridge (1772-1834), Robert Southey (1774-1843) . I didn’t not remember those names so made up some crap about those 3 Lake Poets, Percy, Bysshe and Shelly. Another F. Another reason had to change my major from English to history. Blessings for 2017.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

